Travel Expenses Contributions

Conferences: Important Modifications (effective from 1st March 2015)

The Swiss Academy of Humanities and Social Sciences (SAHS) grants financial contribution to travel expenses of young academics who participate actively in scientific conferences abroad. During the last few years, these subsidies met a great demand. Meanwhile, the number of applications has increased tremendously, so that the academy can no longer deal with all the requests, neither financially nor administratively. Therefore, the SAHS decided to take immediate measures to stabilise the subventions and to reduce administrative work.

Compared to the previous sponsorship, the academy plans three modifications. These alterations are effective for events taking place from 1st March 2015. It is not relevant whether an application has already been submitted or not.

1. Implementation of lump-sums
Newly, only two lump-sums can be applied for; the amount depends on the travelling time. For destinations accessible within 5 flying hours (zone 1, Europe and some Mediterranean countries) a lump-sum of CHF 500.00 can be applied for; for more distant destinations (zone 2) a lump-sum of CHF 1'000.00. The contributions granted by the SAHS provide for travel expenses and costs for lodging. The above-mentioned amounts are meant to be global-credits which cannot be exceeded. Upon receipt of the final account and the relevant proofs, settlement will be defined.

2. Travel contributions every two years
After a request was agreed to, a new application can be submitted only in the year after next.

3. Chargeable costs
The SAHS contributes to travel expenses and costs for lodging only. Expenses for visa, other preliminaries, food, conference fees and local transportation are not covered.

This step is necessary to guarantee future sponsorship of travel expenses.

Contribution to Travel Expenses

In order to encourage the communication and the exchange of results within the international context, the SAHS offers to young academics and young people, who are representing Swiss organisations in international umbrella organisations, reimbursement of travel expenses. Requests can be submitted by presenting a substantiated application.

General terms for submitting an application:

  • Active participation in a scientific conference which takes place abroad (e.g. giving a lecture, presenting a poster, chairing a discussion or being involved in similar activities);
  • Representing a Swiss scientific association (scientific organisation, commission etc.) at an international conference, either individually or as a member of a delegation.
Ankerlink zu Wie stelle ich ein Gesuch bei der SAGW? Ankerlink zu Comment déposer une requête auprès de l'ASSH? Ankerlink zu Submit

How do I submit an application to the SAHS?

For each application the following documents have to be enclosed with:

  • form «Travel expenses»;
  • detailed budget/finance plan, showing especially the personal contributions as well as further applied for or received subsidies;
  • conference programme;
  • documents confirming the active participation in the conference (confirmation of participation, invitation etc.);
  • applicant's curriculum vitae;
  • 1.) definition of conference zone (1 or 2); 2.) applying for the relevant lump-sum (the classification of zones listed here).

Applications must be submitted to the SAHS latest two months prior to the date the conference takes place. After a request was agreed to by the SAHS, a new application can be submitted in the year after next only.

Ankerlink zu Eingabefrist Ankerlink zu delai Ankerlink zu Verify

How does the SAHS Verify the Two-Month-Deadline for Submission?

Example of verification of the two-month-deadline for submission:

If a conference starts on 15th June, the application must have reached the SAHS (by post or e-mail) on 15th April the latest. Moreover, we would like to draw your attention to the fact that this date must be a regular work day.

If the deadline is going to be an official holiday, submission is to be rescheduled to the nearest previous working day. E.g.: if a conference starts on 1st October 2014, the deadline is in principle the 1st August 2014. As 1st August is an official holiday, the nearest previous working day is Thursday, 31st July 2014. For this reason, the application must be with the SAHS on 31st July 2014 the latest.

Ankerlink zu Wer kann ein Gesuch an die SAGW richten? Ankerlink zu Qui peut adresser une requête à l'ASSH? Ankerlink zu Who

Who can Submit Applications to the SAHS?

All individuals irrespective of a membership of one of the member organisations of the SAHS can apply for financial support.

Within the field of young academics, the target group for receiving contributions to travel expenses are postgraduates and postdocs working in the humanities and social sciences. A majority of the applicants' scientific work has to be carried out in Switzerland. Neither the applicants' nationality nor the domicile is of importance.

Ankerlink zu Was subventioniert die SAGW? Ankerlink zu Que subventionne l'ASSH? Ankerlink zu Subsidise

What does the SAHS Subsidise?

  • Travel expenses, if the most economic but reasonable means of transportation is chosen;
  • Costs for lodging are reimbursed to young academics only. The SAHS does not refund more than CHF 150.00 per day. In general, young academics are applicants who have not passed the age of 38 at the time of their applying for a subsidy. However, young academics are also young scientists (such as assistants, graduates and post graduates) above the age of 38 but not occupying a permanent position within the academic career. An adequate personal contribution can be assumed. Depending on the financial situation reductions can occur;
  • Expenses for visa, other preliminaries, food, conference fees and local transportation are not covered;
  • The SAHS grants lump-sums: for destinations in Europe and for some Mediterranean countries (zone 1) a lump-sum of CHF 500.00, for more distant destinations (zone 2) a lump-sum of CHF 1'000.00 can be applied for.
Ankerlink zu Ausschlussgründe Ankerlink zu Objets de donnant pas droit à une subvention Ankerlink zu Exclusion

Reasons for Exclusion

Not subsidised are:

  • Travel expenses for attending meetings held in Switzerland;
  • Expenses for attending lecture tours;
  • Participation in summer schools or further education;
  • Travel expenses for educational trips;
  • Applications which have not reached the SAHS in due time;
  • Applicants not belonging to the target group entitled to subsides.
esense GmbH

Reisekostenbeiträge

Wichtige Änderungen für Tagungen ab dem 1. März 2015

Die Schweizerische Akademie der Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (SAGW) unterstützt Nachwuchsforschende in der Schweiz mit Reisemitteln für die aktive Teilnahme an wissenschaftlichen Tagungen im Ausland. Dieses Förderinstrument wurde in den letzten Jahren sehr stark nachgefragt. Mittlerweile hat das Gesuchsvolumen allerdings ein Ausmass erreicht, das für die Akademie finanziell und administrativ nicht mehr zu bewältigen ist. Die SAGW sieht sich deshalb veranlasst, Sofortmassnahmen einzuführen, die auf eine Stabilisierung der Subventionen und des Bearbeitungsaufwands abzielen.

Die Akademie sieht drei Änderungen gegenüber der bisherigen Reisemittelförderung vor. Diese Neuerungen gelten für alle Veranstaltungen, die ab dem 1. März 2015 stattfinden, unabhängig davon, ob ein Gesuch bereits eingereicht worden ist oder nicht.

1. Einführung von Pauschalbeiträgen
Neu können noch zwei Pauschalbeiträge beantragt werden, abhängig von der Reisedauer. Für Destinationen, die innerhalb von fünf Flugstunden erreicht werden können (Zone 1, Europa und einige Mittelmeeranreinerstaaten) kann ein Pauschalbeitrag von CHF 500 beantragt werden. Für weiter entfernte Destinationen (Zone 2) gilt ein Pauschalbeitrag von CHF 1'000. Mit diesen Beiträgen unterstützt die Akademie Reise- und Übernachtungskosten. Es handelt sich dabei um Rahmenkredite, die nicht überschritten werden können und nach Vorlage der mit Belegen versehenen Abrechnung präzisiert werden.

2. Reisemittelförderung alle zwei Jahre
Nachdem ein Gesuch bewilligt worden ist, kann erst wieder ein Antrag für eine Veranstaltung, die im übernächsten Kalenderjahr stattfindet, eingereicht werden.

3. Anrechenbare Kosten
Die SAGW kann Kosten für die Reise und für die Übernachtung übernehmen. Kosten für Visa und sonstige Vorbereitungen, für Verpflegung, Tagungsgebühren und für Transporte am Tagungsort sind nicht beitragsberechtigt.

Ziel dieser Massnahmen ist es, die Reisemittelförderung für die nächsten Jahre zu sichern.

Beiträge an Reisekosten

Zur Förderung der Kommunikation und des Austausches von Forschungsergebnissen im internationalen Kontext richtet die SAGW an den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs und an Personen, die schweizerische Organisationen in internationalen Dachverbänden vertreten, auf ein begründetes Gesuch hin Reisekostenbeiträge aus.


Allgemeine Subventionsbedingungen sind:

  • Aktive Teilnahme im Rahmen einer wissenschaftlichen Tagung im Ausland (Vortrag, Poster, Diskussionsleitung oder Ähnliches).
  • Persönliche Vertretung (oder innerhalb einer Delegation) einer schweizerischen wissenschaftlichen Gemeinschaft (Fachgesellschaft, Kommissionen usw.) im internationalen Rahmen.
Ankerlink zu Wie stelle ich ein Gesuch bei der SAGW? Ankerlink zu Comment déposer une requête auprès de l'ASSH?

Wie stelle ich ein Gesuch an die SAGW?

Jedem Gesuch sind folgende Unterlagen beizulegen:

  • das Formular «Reisekosten»
  • das detaillierte Budget und ein Finanzierungsplan, der insbesondere die Eigenleistungen sowie die weiteren beantragten oder erhaltenen Unterstützungen ausweist;
  • ein Tagungsprogramm;
  • Dokumente, welche die aktive Teilnahme an der Veranstaltung bestätigen können (Bestätigung der Teilnahme, Einladung usw.);
  • ein Lebenslauf des Gesuchstellers/der Gesuchstellerin;
  • Abklären, ob der Tagungsort in die Zone 1 oder 2 fällt und den entsprechenden Pauschalbeitrag beantragen (Einteilung der Zonen siehe hier).


Die Gesuche müssen spätestens zwei Monate vor dem Veranstaltungstermin bei der SAGW eingetroffen sein. Wenn die SAGW ein Gesuch für eine Veranstaltung bewilligt hat, kann erst wieder für eine Tagung im übernächsten Kalenderjahr ein Gesuch gestellt werden.

Ankerlink zu Eingabefrist Ankerlink zu delai

Wie überprüft die SAGW die Einhaltung der Eingabefrist von zwei Monaten?

Die Überprüfung der Eingabefrist soll an einem Beispiel dargelegt werden.

Wenn eine Veranstaltung an einem 15. Juni beginnt, so muss das Gesuch spätestens am 15. April bei uns eingetroffen sein. Eingetroffen sein heisst, es ist im Postfach der SAGW oder in der Mailbox. Ausserdem muss dieses Datum auf einen Arbeitstag fallen.

Wenn das Einreichedatum auf einen Feiertag fällt, so verschiebt sich dieses auf den nächst früheren Arbeitstag.
Beispiel: Wenn eine Tagung am 1. Oktober 2014 beginnt, endet die Eingabefrist im Prinzip am 1. August 2014. Da der 1. August ein Feiertag ist, ist der nächst frühere Arbeitstag der Donnerstag, 31. Juli 2014. Damit muss das Gesuch spätestens am 31. Juli 2014 bei der SAGW eingetroffen sein.

Ankerlink zu Wer kann ein Gesuch an die SAGW richten? Ankerlink zu Qui peut adresser une requête à l'ASSH?

Wer kann ein Gesuch an die SAGW richten?

Natürliche Personen, unabhängig davon, ob sie einer Mitgliedinstitution der SAGW angehören oder nicht, können Beitragsgesuche stellen.

Die Zielgruppe der Reisemittelförderung des akademischen Nachwuchs sind Doktorierende oder Postdocs in den Geistes- oder Sozialwissenschaften.

Die Gesuchsteller/-innen müssen den Hauptteil ihrer wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeit in der Schweiz ausüben. Ihre Nationalität bzw. ihr Wohnsitz sind unerheblich.

Ankerlink zu Was subventioniert die SAGW? Ankerlink zu Que subventionne l'ASSH?

Was subventioniert die SAGW?

  • Die Reisekosten, wobei das günstigste zumutbare Transportmittel zu wählen ist.
  • Die Übernachtungskosten sind ausschliesslich Nachwuchswissenschafter/-innen vorbehalten, wobei die SAGW nicht mehr als Fr. 150.- pro Tag vergütet. Als Nachwuchswissenschafter/-innen gelten generell Gesuchsteller/-innen), die bei der Registrierung ihres Subventionsgesuchs das 38. Lebensjahr nicht überschritten haben. Als Nachwuchswissenschafter/-innen gelten auch junge Forscher und Forscher/-innen (Assistierende, Doktorierende, Habilitierende) über 38 Jahre, die jedoch noch keine gesicherte Position in der akademischen Laufbahn erreicht haben. Ein angemessener Eigenbeitrag kann vorausgesetzt werden. Je nach finanzieller Situation sind Reduktionen möglich.
  • Kosten für Visa und sonstige Vorbereitungen, für Verpflegung, Tagungsgebühren und für Transporte am Tagungsort sind nicht beitragsberechtigt.
  • Die SAGW spricht Pauschalbeiträge: Für Tagungsorte in Europa und in einigen Mittelmeeranreinerstaaten (Zone 1) kann ein Pauschalbeitrag von CHF 500, für weiter entfernte Destinationen (Zone 2) ein Pauschalbeitrag von CHF 1'000 beantragt werden.

Ankerlink zu Ausschlussgründe Ankerlink zu Objets de donnant pas droit à une subvention

Ausschlussgründe

Von der Beitragsberechtigung ausgeschlossen sind:

  • Beiträge an Reisekosten für die Teilnahme an Tagungen in der Schweiz;
  • Beiträge an Vortragsreisen;
  • Teilnahme an Sommerschulen oder Weiterbildungen;
  • Reisekosten für Forschungsaufenthalte;
  • nicht fristgerecht eingetroffene Gesuche.
  • Gesuchssteller-/in gehört nicht zur Zielgruppe der Reisemittelförderung
esense GmbH