DARIAH

DARIAH - Digital Research Infrastructure for the Arts and Humanities

DARIAH in a nutshell: DARIAH is developed by researchers for researchers

What is DARIAH?
DARIAH is an acronym for Digital Research Infrastructure for the Arts and Humanities. It serves as pan-European co-operation of research infrastructures for humanists working with computer based methods. It promotes digital research as well as the teaching of digital research methods.

How does DARIAH work?
DARIAH is as a network. At present, it connects several hundreds of researchers and dozens of research facilities in 17 European countries, the so-called DARIAH member states. Moreover, DARIAH cooperates with numerous institutions in countries - also in Switzerland - which are not or not yet member of DARIAH. It also co-operates with numerous research projects throughout Europe. Researchers supporting DARIAH develop digital tools, share scientific data as well as know-how. They organise workshops, conferences or summer schools on digital methods, and provide training equipment for the Digital Humanities.

Since 15th August 2014 DARIAH has been organised as a European Research Infrastructure Consortium - ERIC. For the time being, 17 countries are full members of DARIAH; they constitute the General Assembly. The board of directors is responsible for the operational management. Four Virtual Competence Centers (VCC) are charged with tasks regarding contents (e-Infrastructure, Research and Education Liaison, Scholarly Content Management, Advocacy, Impact and Outreach). Switzerland is not a member of DARIAH, however, seven universities as well as the SAHS are co-operation partners of DARIAH.

In collaboration with the project DESIR and the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI) efforts are in progress to make Switzerland a national member of DARIAH, latest by 2021.

For further information see https://www.dariah.eu/about/dariah-in-nutshell/

Ansprechperson in der SAGW:

Dr. Beat Immenhauser

Stv. Generalsekretär

SAGW
Haus der Akademien
Laupenstrasse 7
Postfach
3001 Bern

beat.immenhauser [at] sagw.ch

++41 (0)31 306 92 52

esense GmbH

DARIAH

DARIAH - Digital Research Infrastructure for the Arts and Humanities

DARIAH en un mot : une infrastructure créée par des chercheurs/-euses pour des chercheurs/-euses

Qu’est-ce que DARIAH ?
DARIAH, un acronyme pour Digital Research Infrastructure for the Arts and Humanities, est une vaste association européenne d’infrastructures de recherche numériques pour la communauté des spécialistes des sciences humaines qui travaillent avec des méthodes informatisées. DARIAH encourage la recherche numérique de même que l’enseignement des méthodes de recherche numériques.

Comment fonctionne DARIAH ?
DARIAH est un réseau qui met en relation plusieurs centaines de chercheuses et de chercheurs ainsi que des dizaines d’organismes de recherche actuellement dans 17 pays européens membres de DARIAH. En outre DARIAH coopère avec plusieurs organismes dans des pays (dont la Suisse) qui ne sont pas ou pas encore membres, de même qu’avec de nombreux projets de recherche en Europe. Les chercheuses et chercheurs qui s’engagent dans DARIAH développent des outils numériques et partagent leurs données et leur savoir-faire. Ils organisent des ateliers, des colloques ou des ‘summer schools’ sur les méthodes numériques et proposent des supports pédagogiques pour les humanités digitales.

Depuis le 15 août 2014, DARIAH est dotée d’une structure d’ERIC (European Research Infrastructure Consortium / Consortium pour une infrastructure de recherche européenne). Actuellement 17 pays sont membres à part entière de DARIAH et constituent l’Assemblée générale. La direction opérationnelle est assurée par un collège de deux directeurs et une directrice. Les travaux de contenu sont effectués au sein de quatre Virtual Competence Centres (VCC) (e-Infrastructure ; Research and Education Liaison ; Scholarly Content Management ; Advocacy, Impact and Outreach). La Suisse n’est pas membre de DARIAH. En revanche, cinq universités de même que l’ASSH sont des partenaires de coopération de DARIAH.

Actuellement, en collaboration avec le projet DESIR et le SEFRI, des mesures en faveur d’une affiliation nationale de la Suisse à DARIAH au plus tard en 2021 sont en cours.

Pour plus d’informations : http://www.dariah.eu/about/dariah-in-a-nutshell.html

Personne de contact à l'ASSH:

Dr. Beat Immenhauser

Stv. Generalsekretär

SAGW
Haus der Akademien
Laupenstrasse 7
Postfach
3001 Bern

beat.immenhauser [at] sagw.ch

++41 (0)31 306 92 52

esense GmbH